Women Africa Cup of Nations Winners: Women AFCON Champions

Women Africa Cup of Nations finals winners: AFCON past champion list since 1991.

Africa Cup of nations usually known as Africa Women's Championship. It is held every 2 years after 1998. Women afcon was Inaugurated in 1991 & it was sanctioned by Confederation of Africa Football (CAF).

This women football unit are conduct to qualify for the FIFA Women World Cup since its starting.

Nigeria is the most successful team in Women AFCON having winning the most titles 11th times.

CAF changed the name after consenting the other member countries from Africa Women's Championship to Women's Africa cup of Nations.. Nigeria, Cameroon, South Africa participated in all tournaments from its started.

The Current African champions of the women Africa Cup of nations is South Africa who defeated the Host Morocco to win the first-ever Women's AFRON 2022 title.

women,  afcon, africa cup of nations, final, winners,champions, women championship, football, all time, loser list.

Who has won the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations title.?

Women's Africa Cup of Nations 2022 Final:   South Africa defeated Morocco 2-1 to wins the First-Ever Women's AFCON 2022 title. Striker Hildah Magaia scored both goals for South Africa.

  • With goals in the 63rd and 71st minutes of the second half, the South Korean-based forward put Banyana Banyana on the road to their first continental championship in Rabat.

  • When she scored with 10 minutes left in the game, Rosella Ayane gave the thronging home crowd some hope again, guaranteeing a tight conclusion at the Prince Moulay Abdallah Stadium.

Africa Cup of Nations winners List, AFCON past champions, History, 1957-2022. 

Women African Championship, AFCON Finals Champion list, past winners since 1991-2022.

1991            Nigeria 4 - 0 Cameroon.

1995            Nigeria 7 - 1 South Africa.

1998            Nigeria 2 - 0 Ghana

2000            Nigeria 2 - 0 South Africa

2002            Nigeria 2 - 0 Ghana

2004            Nigeria 5 - 0 Cameroon

2006            Nigeria 1 - 0 Ghana

2008             Equatorial Guinea 2 - 1 South Africa

2010            Nigeria 4 - 2 Equatorial Guinea

2012            Equatorial Guinea 4 - 0 South Africa

2014            Nigeria 2 - 0 Cameroon

2016             Nigeria 1 - 0 Cameroon.

2018           Nigeria --  0 – 0   (4–3 p) -- South Africa

2020          CANCELLED Due to COVID-19.

2022         South Africa  2  -  1   Morocco.

How Women's AFCON championship Works. Format.

The final phase is contested by 8 teams divided into 2 pools of 4 teams each. The first two from each pool qualify for the semi-finals from where the two finalists shall emerge, who automatically qualify for the World Cup. The 2nd representative of the African Continent to the World Cup is the winner of the classification match between the two losers of the semi-finals.

  • Current: The tournament also doubles as the African qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup. The top four teams will qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and two more teams will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.



  1. THOMAS SALEM TERNAJuly 8, 2022 at 4:33 PM

    Really Nigeria girls are super 11times,is not an easy task more victory,I wish you success

  2. Greatness forever

  3. Nigerian all the way, dominant the women football in African, no body can stop us.

  4. That's is nice one for Nigeria woman

  5. Very good Nigeria women football

  6. Why are there fewer teams in women's afcon competition?

  7. We need more women teams in awcon..

  8. 2022 cup is ours

  9. Nigeria government is only GOD can judge because when am in young age people are working to make this country go higher in all areas but nowadays everyone fighting for their pockets.

  10. Nigeria best team in africa