List of African cup of Nations winners, AFCON champions, History

African Cup of Nations champions List, AFCON Winners Since 1957. 

Africa cup of nations, afcon, CAN, champions, winners, history, List, results, since 1957, 2021-2022


Brief History of Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON stats, Facts.

The Africa Cup of Nations is also known as "African Cup of nation" or "AFCON".

Its French words"Coupe d'Afrique des Nations".

This tournament is played under the supervision of continental organization Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The first of Africa Cup of Nations was held in Sudan & the first AFCON winner is Egypt who beats the Sudan on 1957.

Since 1968 the Africa Cup of Nations has been held after every 2 years.

Currently, the 33st edition of the African Cup of Nations 2021-22 (AFCON) will be held in Cameroon.

In the 1st unit of Africa Cup of Nations were only three national teams, Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia.

The number of teams was reached till 16 in 1998 & Next in 2023 Ivory Coast 24 teams is playing.

The most successful team in Africa Cup of Nations is Egypt, who won the most AFCON titles with 7 times in the Full list of AFCON winners..

 And Ghana is ranked in the List of Most-time Afcon champios with 4th times, -- Cameroon is ranked 2ND in the list of Afcon winners, who have won the titles 5th times since 1957.

Latest & Current champion of Africa Cup of Nations 2022 winning team is Senegal beats Egypt, 5-4 on pen.

Previously 2019 Africa Cup of Nations winners is Algerian team who beat 1-0 Senegal in Final.

Who Won the Most AFCON titles, Highest Winning teams in Africa Cup Nations.?

Egypt is the most successful nation in the AFCON Cup's history, winning the tournament a record of seven times (including when Egypt was known as the United Arab Republic between 1958 and 1961), 

Followed by Cameroon won the Africa Cup of Nations title 5 times, & Ghana is the third Best AFCON team who won the AFCON tile Three times in History. 

Who won the Last AFCON title, African cup of Nations 2019 champions.?

In the 32nd edition of AFCON 2019 or CAN2019 was hosted by Egypt, Cameroon were the defending champions of AFCON 2017, but were eliminated. The hosts Egypt were eliminated at the same stage after losing 0–1 to South Africa.

Algeria defeated Senegal 1–0 in the final, winning their second African cup of Nations title 2019 and first time AFCON champions since 1990, while Nigeria came third after beating Tunisia 1–0 in their third-place play-off match.

Who is the Current AFCON champions.? 2021-22 African Cup of Nations winner.

Sadio Mane showed bravery and mental strength in putting behind him an early squandered penalty to power Senegal to their first African title and bring to an exciting close a troubled tournament in Cameroon.

It was a first Cup of Nations success for the West African country after two lost finals in 2002 and 2019.

Mane had a seventh minute penalty saved in Sunday’s final against Egypt at the Olembe Stadium in Yaounde, a missed opportunity that could have proven costly as the game continued through extra time to a penalty shootout after a goalless stalemate.

But he put the trauma behind him to step up and take the decisive kick in the post-match shootout to see his country to a 4-2 win on penalties.

Women's Africa Cup of Nations Winners, AFCON Women's past champions, runner-up, History.

When is the Next AFCON Cup, Upcoming 2023 African Cup of Nations Fixtures, schedule dates, Venues...

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations is scheduled to be the 34th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations, will be hosted by the Ivory Coast, the second time the country would host the AFCON Cup.

The AFCON 2023 or CAN 2023 Top tier National Football tournament in Africa will be held next year from 23 June – 23 July among the Top 24 ranking African nations.


African Cup of Nations Past Winners List, AFCON Champions 1957-2022.

A complete list of all-Time past African Cup of Nations winners, AFCON Winners since 1957--2022.

List of Past AFCON winners: 

Years   winners   Runner-up 

2021-22  --  Senegal  0 - 0  (5-4)
Egypt  , AFCON 2022 Final.

2019  -     Senegal    0  -   1    Algeria  -  ( BounedJah  goal ).

2017      Cameroon     2-1    Egypt 

2015       Ivory Coast   9-8   Ghana (pen)

2013        Nigeria    1-0    Burkina Faso

2012        Zambia    8-7    Ivory Coast ( pen)

2010        Egypt    1-0    Ghana

2008        Egypt    1-0    Cameroon

2006        Egypt     4-2    Ivory Coast ( pen)

2004        Tunisia    2-1    Morocco

2002        Cameroon    3-2    Senegal ( pen)

2000        Cameroon    4-3    Nigeria ( pen)

1998        Egypt    2-0    South Africa

1996        South Africa    2-0    Tunisia

1994        Nigeria     2-1    Zambia

1992        Ivory Coast    11-10    Ghana ( pen)

1990        Algeria     1-0     Nigeria

1988        Cameroon    1-0    Nigeria

1986        Egypt    5-4     Cameroon ( pen)

1984        Cameroon    3-1     Nigeria

1982        Ghana     7-6     Libya ( pen)

1980        Nigeria    3-0     Algeria

1978        Ghana    2-0     Uganda

1976        Morocco  ( final not held)

1974        Zaire     2-2     Zambia (Zaire won replay 2-0)

1972        Congo    3-2    Mali

1970        Sudan    3-2    Ghana

1968        Congo DR    1-0    Ghana

1965        Ghana    3-2    Tunisia (aet)

1963        Ghana    3-0    Sudan

1962        Ethiopia     4-2    United Arab Republic (aet)

1959        United Arab Republic    2-1    Sudan

1957        Egypt    4-0    Ethiopia

Which country has won the most Africa Cup of Nations titles, Afcon champs..

7 Egypt     
5 -  Cameroon       
4 -  Ghana,  
3 -  Nigeria        
2 -  Ivory Coast, Congo DR,   Algeria  - 2019... 
1  -  Tunisia ,  Sudan  ,   Morocco,  Ethiopia  ,  South Africa,   Congo ,   Zambia & SENEGAL in 2021-22..