Peyton Manning leads Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2021 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Sunday, February 7, 2021

Peyton Manning leads Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2021

 Colts legend Peyton Manning leads 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class.

This year's class, revealed on Saturday night at the NFL Awards, features some of the most famous stars in the history of the league. Two first ballot participants are included in this year's induction class: Peyton Manning and Calvin Johnson. Manning, Johnson and the remainder of this year's Hall of Fame class will be unveiled at the NFL Awards Show on Saturday. The 2020 Hall of Fame class will be held in Canton from August 5-8. From August 6-9, the 2021 class will be celebrated.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021, full list of Nominees.

OL Alan Faneca (1998-2007):    A nine-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro, Faneca was a key member of the Steelers' 2005 championship team. A member of the NFL's All-2000s Team.

WR Calvin Johnson (2007-2015):    "Megatron" was a six-time Pro Bowler, three-time All-Pro and a member of the NFL's All-2000s Team. A two-time receiving champion, Johnson's 1,964 yards is the highest single-season total in league history.

QB Peyton Manning (1998-2015):    The only five-time league MVP, Manning retired as the NFL's all-time career leader in passing yards and passing touchdowns. The first starting quarterback to win a Super Bowl with two different franchises, Manning's 55 touchdown passes in 2013 is still a single-season record.

DB John Lynch (1993-2007):    Lynch was a five-time Pro Bowler and strong safety and was also a Pro Bowler during each of his four seasons at free safety. Lynch played a vital role in the Buccaneers' Super Bowl XXXVII victory.

DB Charles Woodson (1998-2015):    A former Heisman Trophy winner, Woodson's NFL, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, nine Pro Bowls, four All-Pro selections and a member of the NFL's All-2000s Team. Woodson was also a key contributor in Green Bay's 2010 Super Bowl-winning team.

Senior Inductee: WR Drew Pearson (1973-1983):      A three-time All-Pro, Pearson is the only member of the NFL's All-1970s Team that is not already enshrined in Canton. The recipient of the NFL's first Hail Mary pass, Pearson helped lead the Cowboys to seven NFL championship game appearances, three NFC titles and a victory in Super Bowl XII.

 Contributor: Bill Nunn:      " In 1968, Nunn joined the Steelers as the team's assistant personnel director. Nunn is credited for acquiring the Steelers players that would contribute to the team's 1970s dynasty. Nunn, is one of the few members of the Steelers' org. to play a hand in each of the team's six Super Bowl victories.

 Coach: Tom Flores:     An assistant on the Raiders' first Super Bowl championship team, In 1980, the Raiders became the first wild-card team to win the Super Bowl after upsetting the favored Eagles in Super Bowl XV. Three years later, Flores led the Raiders to another Super Bowl upset, as the Raiders shocked Washington (the defending champion) in Super Bowl XVIII, 38-9. 

 Flores is also the first Latino head coach to win the Super Bowl.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here