List of FIBA Basketball World Cup Winners, Champions History - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Sunday, June 30, 2019

List of FIBA Basketball World Cup Winners, Champions History

FIBA Basketball World Cup Champions: All-time winners 1950-2014.

USA Yugoslavia (Serbiahas Won the most FIBA World Cup -Champions 5 times each. Current FIBA Basketball World Cup 2014 Champions is USA 129-92 Serbia. 

FIBA Basketball World Cup History & Facts. 

  • FIBA Basketball World Cup is organized by International Basketball Federation (FIBA) b/w the members of FIBA basketball men national teams around the World. 
  • The FIBA World Cup known as FIBA World Championship b/w 1950 to 2010.
  • FIBA World Cup are held every 4 years since 1950 except on 2 occasions.
  • The 1st FIBA World Championship 1950 was held & won by Argentina.
  • 1st time in history in 1994 the National Basketball Association (NBA) players joined the FIBA World Championship.
  • USA 1st time in history in 16 years Won the FIBA World Championship 2010 by beating Turkey. 
  • After 2014 the  FIBA had made important changes in the competition, by expanding the 24 to 32 teams.
  • USA & Yugoslavia (Serbiahas Won the most FIBA World Cup -Championship 5th times, on 2nd Russia( Soviet Union) has won the title 3rd time of FIBA World Cup.
  • FIBA Basketball World Cup 2010 winner is the USA by defeating Turkey. (host TRK) 

Qualifying Round for FIBA Basketball World Cup.

For qualifying for FIBA WC, the following teams are elected across the World.

  • FIBA Euro Basket - Europe – 6 berths
  • FIBA Africa Championship - Africa – 3 berths
  • FIBA Asia Championship - Asia  – 3 berths
  • FIBA Americas Championship - North, Central, and South America – 5 berths
  • FIBA Oceania Championship - Oceania – 2 berths
  • Defending Olympic Champion – 1 berth, 
  • Host team – 1 berth
  • FIBA-selected wild cards – 4 berths

FIBA World Cup Tournament Format.

This new format made by FIBA in 2006 currently used. Under this Format, the teams are divided into four 1st round groups of 6 teams each. Should teams be tied at the end of the preliminary round...
The top 4 teams in each group will qualify in the knock out round of 16 teams.
In this stage, top teams will play the 4th placed matches with another group, while 2nd & 3rd placed teams will play in each group.
Then this is lead to Quarter-final, Semi-final & Final.
The 3rd, 4th place teams will fight for the Bronze title. 

FIBA Basketball World 2019 will be held in China (Beijing).

Year Host Country  Gold medal game Bronze medal game Number of teams
Gold (Champion) Silver (Runner Up) Bronze (3rd-Place) Fourth place
1950 ArgentinaArgentina United States Chile Brazil 10
1954 BrazilUnited States Brazil Philippines France 12
1959 ChileBrazil United States Chile Taiwan 13
1963 BrazilBrazil Yugoslavia RussiaUnited States 13
1967 UruguayRussia Yugoslavia Brazil United States 13
1970 Yugoslavia Yugoslavia  Brazil Russia Italy 13
1974 Russia Yugoslavia  United States Cuba 14
1978 PhilippinesYugoslavia  Russia Brazil Italy 14
1982 ColombiaRussia United States Yugoslavia Spain 13
1986 SpainUnited States  Russia Yugoslavia Brazil  24
1990 Argentina Yugoslavia  Russia United States  Puerto Rico 16
1994 CanadaUnited States Russia Croatia Greece 16
1998 GreeceYugoslavia  Russia United States Greece 16
2002 United StatesYugoslavia Argentina Germany New Zealand16
2006 JapanSpain Greece United States Argentina  24
2010 TurkeyUnited States Turkey Lithuania Serbia 24
2014 SpainUnited States Serbia France Lithuania 24

  FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 China (Beijing)

1 comment:

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here