Polamalu, Wayne among 15 finalists in Pro Hall of Fame class of 2020 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Friday, January 3, 2020

Polamalu, Wayne among 15 finalists in Pro Hall of Fame class of 2020

Troy Polamalu, Reggie Wayne among 15 finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2020.

The 15 Modern-Era Player Finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020 include seven individuals who are finalists for the first time. The list is comprised of two first-year eligible players with safety Troy Polamalu and wide receiver Reggie Wayne. Five others – safety LeRoy Butler, wide receiver Torry Holt, linebackers Sam Mills and Zach Thomas, and defensive tackle Bryant Young – have been previously eligible for the Hall of Fame but this year marks their first time as finalists.

 The 2020 Pro-Football Hall of Fame Modern-Era Player Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

 The 2020 Pro-Football Hall of Fame Modern-Era Player Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

  Here's a look at the 15 Modern-Era Player Finalists will be considered for election to the Hall of Fame when the Hall’s Selection Committee meets on “Selection Saturday” in Miami the day before Super Bowl LIV.

Tony Boselli, left tackle (Jaguars, 1995-2001):

A five-time Pro Bowler and three time All-Pro, Boselli played a major role in the Jaguars' run to the AFC title game in 1996

Steve Atwater, safety (Browns, 1989-1998; Jets, 1999):

A two-time All-Pro and eight-time Pro Bowler, Atwater, Atwater had six 100-tackle seasons with the Broncos, finishing with 1,180 for his career with 24 interceptions, five sacks, and six forced fumbles.

Isaac Bruce, wide receiver (Rams, 1994-2007; 49ers 2008-09):

A four-time Pro Bowler, Bruce recorded 1,024 receptions for 15,208 yards and 91 touchdowns during his prolific career.

LeRoy Butler, safety (Packers, 1990-2001):

Butler was the first player in NFL history to finish with 20 sacks and 20 interceptions in his career. Butler was a four-time Pro Bowler and First team All-Pro,

Alan Faneca, guard (Steelers, 1998-2007; Jets 2008-2009, Cardinals 2010):

One of the dominant interior linemen of his era, Faneca was selected to nine Pro Bowls and was a six-time All-Pro selection.

Sam Mills, linebacker (Saints, 1986-94; Panthers 1995-97):

Mills was named to four Pro Bowls during his first seven seasons while helping the Saints boast one of the NFL's most formidable defenses over that span.

Torry Holt, wide receiver (Rams, 1999-2008; Jaguars, 2009):

Holt had eight consecutive 1,000-yard seasons from 2000 to 2007, finishing with 920 catches for 13,382 yards and 74 touchdowns. Holt was 10th all-time in yards and 11th in catches when he retired, earning seven Pro Bowl selections.

Steve Hutchinson, guard (Seahawks, 2001-2005; Vikings, 2006-2011; Titans, 2012):

Hutchinson was a five-time First-Team All-Pro selection and a seven-time Pro Bowler. A member of the 2000s All-Decade Team.

Edgerrin James, running back (Colts 1999-2005; Cardinals 2006-07; Seahawks, 2009):

A rushing champion in each of his first two NFL seasons, James retired after 11 NFL seasons with 12,246 rushing yards and 80 touchdowns.

John Lynch, safety (Buccaneers, 1993-2003; Broncos 2004-07):

A Pro Bowler five times in a six-year span from 1997-2002, Lynch earned four more Pro Bowl selections during his final four NFL seasons in Denver from 2004-07.

Troy Polamalu, safety (Steelers, 2003-14):

Polamalu was an eight-time Pro Bowler, four-time All-Pro and the 2010 Defensive Player of the Year. Polamalu helped anchor a Pittsburgh defense that helped the Steelers win two of three Super Bowl appearances from 2005-10.

Richard Seymour, defensive end/tackle (Patriots, 2001-08; Raiders, 2009-12):

Seymour helped lead the Patriots to their first of six Super Bowl wins during his rookie season. He earned five Pro Bowl and three All-Pro nods from 2002-06 while helping New England become the second franchise to win three Super Bowls in a four-year span.

Zach Thomas, linebacker (1996-07; Cowboys, 2008):

Thomas earned seven Pro Bowl and five All-Pro selections from 1998-06. Thomas, who teamed up with Jason Taylor to form one of the greatest linebacking duos in NFL history.

Reggie Wayne, wide receiver (Colts 2011-2014):

Wayne finished with eight 1,000-yard seasons and led the league in receiving yards in 2001. A six-time Pro Bowl selection and First Team All-Pro in 2010, Wayne finished with 1,070 catches for 14,345 yards and 82 touchdowns.

Bryant Young, defensive tackle (49ers, 1994-07):

Young started all 16 games as a rookie while helping the 49ers win their fifth Super Bowl title. In 13 seasons, Young earned four Pro Bowl selections while recording 89.5 sacks, 614 tackles, 12 forced fumbles and seven fumble recoveries.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here