List of All-time WSL Surfing World title Champions, Winners history

World Surf League: Surfing World Champions, WSL Winners List, history Since 1964.   

  • 2022 Rip Curl WSL Finals: For Stephanie Gilmore, 34, this marks her record-breaking Eighth WSL world title, while for Filipe Toledo, this marks his long-sought first world title.

Kelly Slater from the USA has won the most titles of World surfing league champions tour titles 11th times in Men's Championship since its inaugural in 1964.
American surfer Stephanie Galimore is the made history becomes the first women surfer who won the most Women's Surfing Championship titles with 8th times from the beginning of Women's Surfing championship in 1964.

WSL 2022: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) and Filipe Toledo (BRA) won the 2022 World Surf League Titles at the second-annual Rip Curl WSL Finals in dreamy four-to-six foot conditions at Lower Trestles in San Clemente, Calif.

A historic day for Gilmore marked her eighth World Title, making her the winningest women’s surfer in the sport; while Toledo finally made his vision of being a World Champion a reality with his victory today.

world surfing league, WSL Surfing, title, Champions, Winners, championship tour, List, history.
World Surf League Tour Champions

Brief History of WSL Surfing & States-Facts

  • World Surfing league (WSL) is the professional governing body for surfers. Its past name is Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) from 1983 to 2014. This association was formed in 1976 by Hawaiian surfer F. Hemmings & R. Rarick. In the 2015 season, ASP name was changed to WSL.
  • The 1st WSL world championship was won by Tom carrel (men), Kim Mearing (women) in 1983.
  • It is faster growing sports as compared to NHL, MLS or Tennis.
  •  WSL Championship Tour events 2021 Men Winners is Gabriel Medina (BRA) while the women's WSl championship & Five-time-champions Hawaiian is Carissa Moore.
  •  WSL Championship Tour events 2022 Men Winners is  Filipe Toledo  (BRA) while the Women's WSL championship & Eighth-time-champions Australian is Stephanie Gilmore....

See Also:

 Stephanie Gilmore and Philip Toledo win the 2022 WSL Finals in the Lower Trestles.

 World Surf League 2018: All WSL Men's & Women's Championship Tour Winners, Results.

World Surf League Champions: WSL Championship Tour winners List 1964-2022.

WSL Men's World Tour  --  WSL Women's World Tour

Year     --     Men's  Player       ----      Female Player

2022 ---   Filipe Toledo  (BRA)   ---   Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 

2021  ---  Gabriel Medina (BRA)  ---    Carissa Moore (HAW) ..

2020  ---  Cancelled Due to COVID-19 pandemic

2019  ---   CItalo Ferreira  (BRA)      Carissa Moore (HAW)   .

2018 ---  Gabriel Medina  (BRA)          Stephanie Gilmore  (AUS)

2017   John John Florence (Haw)           Tyler Wright  (AUS)

2016    John John Florence (Haw)        Tyler Wright  (AUS)

2015    Adriano de Souza (BRA)         Carissa Moore   (Haw)

2014    Gabriel Medina (BRA)        Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2013    Mick Fanning (AUS)           Carissa Moore (HAW)  

2012    Joel Parkinson (AUS)         Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2011    Kelly Slater (USA)               Carissa Moore (HAW)  

2010    Kelly Slater (USA)            Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2009    Mick Fanning (AUS)         Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2008    Kelly Slater (USA)           Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2007    Mick Fanning (AUS)         Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2006    Kelly Slater (USA)            Layne Beachley (AUS)

2005    Kelly Slater (USA)            Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)

2004    Andy Irons (HAW)             Sofia Mulanovich (PER)

2003    Andy Irons (HAW)              Layne Beachley (AUS)
2002    Andy Irons (HAW)              Layne Beachley (AUS)

2001    C. J. Hobgood (USA)          Layne Beachley (AUS)

2000    Sunny Garcia (HAW)           Layne Beachley (AUS)

1999    Mark Occhilupo (AUS)         Layne Beachley (AUS)

1998    Kelly Slater (USA)               Layne Beachley (AUS)

1997    Kelly Slater (USA)              Lisa Andersen (USA)

1996    Kelly Slater (USA)             Lisa Andersen (USA)

1995    Kelly Slater (USA)             Lisa Andersen (USA)

1994    Kelly Slater (USA)             Lisa Andersen (USA)

1993    Derek Ho (HAW)              Pauline Menczer (AUS)

1992    Kelly Slater (USA)            Wendy Botha (AUS)

1991    Damien Hardman (AUS)         Wendy Botha (AUS)

1990    Tom Curren (USA)               Pam Burridge (AUS)

1989    Martin Potter (UK)                Wendy Botha (AUS)

1988    Barton Lynch (AUS)             Freida Zamba (USA)

1987/88    Damien Hardman (AUS)       Wendy Botha (RSA)

1986/87    Tom Curren (USA)            Freida Zamba (USA)

1985/86    Tom Curren (USA)            Freida Zamba (USA)

1984/85    Tom Carroll (AUS)            Freida Zamba (USA)

1983/84    Tom Carroll (AUS)            Kim Mearig (USA)

IPS World Circuit 

1982    Mark Richards (AUS)      Debbie Beacham (USA)

1981    Mark Richards (AUS)        Margo Oberg (HAW)

1980    Mark Richards (AUS)          Margo Oberg (HAW)

1979    Mark Richards (AUS)          Lynn Boyer (HAW)

1978    Wayne Bartholomew (AUS)        Lynn Boyer (HAW)

1977    Shaun Tomson (RSA)               Margo Oberg (HAW)

1976    Peter Townend (AUS)

Smirnoff World Pro-Am Surfing Championships

1975    Mark Richards (AUS) 1

974    Reno Abellira (USA)

1973    Ian Cairns (AUS) 

ISF World Surfing Championships

1972    San Diego, USA James Blears (USA)          Sharon Webber (USA)

 1970    Torquay / Lorne / Johanna, AUS Rolf Aurness (USA)     Sharon Webber (USA)

 1968    Rincon, Puerto Rico, PR Fred Hemmings (USA)          Margo Godfrey (USA)

1966    San Diego, USA Nat Young (AUS)                Joyce Hoffman (USA)

1965    Punta Rocas, Peru Felipe Pomar (PER)                     Joyce Hoffman (USA)

1964    Manly, AUS Midget Farrelly (AUS)                   Phyllis O'Donnell (AUS).


Who won the most WSL Championship Tour Champions,  Top title holders.?

Player                                  Gender      Won.

Kelly Slater (USA)                   Male          11 

Layne Beachley (AUS)           Female        
Mark Richards (AUS)             Male             4
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)        Female       8