Schauffele past Sabbatini, USA wins their first Olympic gold since 1900 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Sunday, August 1, 2021

Schauffele past Sabbatini, USA wins their first Olympic gold since 1900

 USA golf star Xander Schauffele edge Sabbatini wins Olympic Golf gold in men's individual stroke play.

American Xander Schauffele edged Slovakia's Rory Sabbatini by one stroke to win the Olympic men's golf tournament.

 Xander Schauffele of the United States has won the Olympic men's individual stroke play competition after four rounds of action saw him finish on -18. The 27-year-old Californian ended the gold medal hopes of Slovakia's Rory Sabbatini with a nerve-free final putt, with the latter ending the final round on -17. 

 Right when Schauffele appeared to lose his firm grip on the gold, the 27-year-old American responded with two clutch putts at the end for a 4-under 67 and a one-shot victory over Rory Sabbatini of Slovakia in a wild finish to the men’s golf competition. 

One was a 6-foot birdie putt for the lead. The last one was a 4-foot par putt for the win.

 Sabbatini set an Olympic record with a 61 to won the silver. C.T. Pan of Taiwan, who closed with a 63, won the bronze in the playoff among seven countries that lasted four holes.

 "Probably more [pressure in this event than other ones] in all honesty," Schauffele told Golf Channel after winning for the first time in over two years. 

"I really wanted to win for my dad. I'm sure he's crying somewhere right now. I kind of wanted this one more than any other one." 

 "I think obviously winning a gold medal and representing our country is a big deal or else we wouldn't be sitting here talking to you and answering these questions," said Schauffele.

The Olympic 2021: leaderboard with the leaders on the second nine.

1. Xander Schauffele (USA): -18 (F) -- Gold medal

2. Rory Sabbatini (SVK): -17 (F) -- Silver medal

T3. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN): -15 (F)

T3. C.T. Pan (TPE): -15 (F) -- Bronze medal

T3. Collin Morikawa (USA): -15 (F)

T3. Mito Pereira (CHI): -15 (F)

T3. Sebastian Munoz (COL): -15 (F)

T3. Rory McIlroy (IRL): -15 (F)

T3. Paul Casey (GBR): -15 (F)

Follow to More.....

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here