Multan Sultans celebrate as they wins their first PSL trophy 2021 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Friday, June 25, 2021

Multan Sultans celebrate as they wins their first PSL trophy 2021

Pakistan Super League: Maqsood, Rossouw fifties, Multan Sultans thrashed Peshawar Zalmi to win maiden PSL 2021 title.

Multan Sultans triumphed over Peshawar Zalmi in the final to win their maiden Pakistan Super League (PSL) title in a see-saw kind of game at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

 Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs to become the Pakistan Super League champions for the first time.

In the final match of the league played at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and invited Multan Sultans to bat. Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood started the innings. Shaun Masood did not score in the first over.

Both openers completed the team's half-century in the seventh over to take the score to 68. At this stage, Mohammad Imran could not understand a slow ball and was bowled for 37 runs.

Zalmi got a chance to take the important wicket of Sohaib Maqsood in the next over but Hazratullah Zazai standing in the extra cover could not take an easy catch. However, two balls later, Mohammad Rizwan caught Kamran Akmal behind the wickets and he scored 30 off 30 balls. 

After the openers were out, Sohaib Maqsood and Riley Russo of the Sultans batted aggressively and started increasing the score rapidly and completed a half-century partnership off just 22 balls.

Sohaib Maqsood completed his half-century off 27 balls while maintaining excellent form, while Rossouw completed his fifties off just 20 balls. 

Samin Gul bowled well and made Johnson Charles run on the next ball. In the last over of the innings, Sultans scored 21 runs thanks to two sixes by Khushdal Shah and scored 206 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Malik, Akmal gives little hopes, Imran Tahir stormed to the Peshawar Zalmi batting in PSL 2021.

In pursuit of the 207-run target, Peshawar Zalmi's opener Kamran Akmal started the innings confidently and Kamran Akmal added all 36 runs in the first five overs. In the sixth over of the match, Zazai opened the scoring with a six off Blessing Mazarbani but caught the point on the next ball. 

On the first ball of the next over, Imran Khan scattered the wickets of Kamran Akmal to give his team its second victory and increased the pressure on the rival team by making the wicket maiden. The duo of Shoaib Malik and Jonathan Wells also struggled to score runs and both faced difficulties in playing fast as per the required run rate.


The Sultans soon got Shoaib Malik's valuable wicket when he was caught behind the wickets but the third umpire declared Imran Khan's bowler a no-ball when he went out of the crease. 

Shoaib Malik took full advantage of the opportunity and shared a 66-run stand with Roman Powell for the fourth wicket. 

In the 15th over, Blessing Mazrbani led his team to another important victory by leading Powell who scored 23 runs. 

In the next over, Zalmai suffered a major blow when Shoaib Malik gave away 48 runs to Sohail Tanveer. 

 Imran Tahir took three wickets in one over including Rutherford to take his team to the threshold of victory. 

He also ensured the victory of the Sultans by running Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Imran in the same over after the West Indian batsman. Imran Khan also washed his hands and gave a ninth victory to his team by dismissing Emad Butt.

Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win maiden PSL 2021 title, Final Scores:

 Multan Sultans 206/4 in 20 overs (Sohaib Maqsood 65, Rilee Rossouw 50; Sameen Gul 2-26, Mohammad Irfan 2-47) 

beat Peshawar Zalmi 159/9 in 20 overs (Shoaib Malik 48, Kamran Akmal 36; Imran Tahir 3-33, Blessing Muzarabani 2-26) 

MS Wins by 47 runs.

Pakistan Super League: How much PSL2021 Champions Sultans got the winners share in Prize money.

PSL 2021 Prize Money:

Winner –  (PKR 75 million)

Runners-up –  (PKR 30 million)

Player of the tournament –  (PKR 3 million)

Highest Run-Scorer –  (PKR 0.8 million)

Highest Wicket-Taker –  (PKR 0.8 million)

Best Fielder –  (PKR 0.8 million)

Best Wicketkeeper –  (PKR 0.8 million)

Spirit of Cricket –  (PKR 3.2 million)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here