Castroneves historic wins, stats, record broken at 2021 Indy 500 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, May 31, 2021

Castroneves historic wins, stats, record broken at 2021 Indy 500

Helio Castroneves 4th-time winner, Most-time & oldest winner, stats, record broken at 2021 Indy 500.

Helio Castroneves claimed a historic fourth-time Indianapolis 500 victory on Sunday after overtaking Alex Palou to clinch 2021 Indy500 title in the closing laps to win a gripping race at the Brickyard in the front of 135,000 fans.

46 years old, Brazilian joined A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr and Rick Mears, who last joined the club in 1991, as the only four-time winners of 'The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.'

Top 20 Indy 500 stats, records at 2021 Indianapolis 105th race.

4-time --  Indianapolis 500 victory for Helio Castroneves. He earned his first three victories in 2001, 2002 and 2009, all with Team Penske.

4th time winner  --  Helio Castroneves joins A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991) as the only four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500.

1st -- timej Indianapolis 500 victory for Meyer Shank Racing. It also is the first NTT INDYCAR SERIES victory for Meyer Shank Racing.

46 years, 20 days -- one of the oldest Indy500 winner Helio Castroneves . He is the fourth-oldest winner in Indianapolis 500 history, behind Al Unser (47 years, 360 days; 1987), Bobby Unser (47 years, 93 days; 1981) and 
Emerson Fittipaldi (46 years, 169 days; 1993).

1st Driver  --  Helio Castroneves to win an Indianapolis 500 for Team Penske and win again with another team. He drove to victory for Meyer Shank Racing today.

7th  --  Indianapolis 500 victory for a Brazilian driver. Helio Castroneves has four wins (2001, 2002, 2009, 2021), Emerson Fittipaldi has two (1989, 1993), and Tony Kanaan has one (2013).

190.690 mph was the fastest Indianapolis 500 speed in Indy500 history, with an average speed of 190.690 mph, breaking the record of 187.433 set in 2013.

TWO --  caution periods for 18 laps today, both race records. The previous record for fewest caution periods was four, in 1990 and 2019.

21 LAPS  --   previous record for fewest caution laps in 1976, 2013 and 2014.

No. 06 Car  --  For the first time  has won the Indianapolis 500. It’s also the first time a car number starting with zero has won the race.

12-years  --  gap between Helio Castroneves’ fourth win today and his third win in 2009. That’s the second-longest gap between victories in Indianapolis 500 history, behind only Juan Pablo 
Montoya’s 15-year gap between victories in 2000 and 2015.

3rd time  --  the Indianapolis 500 winner has started eighth. The last winner who started eighth was Kenny Brack in 1999. Danny Sullivan won from eighth in 1985.

14th  wins --  Indianapolis 500 victory for a Honda-powered car, second all time. Offenhauser engines powered 27 winners.

No. 20th  --  Scott McLaughlin finished 20th, the top rookie finisher in this year’s race.

 35 lead  --  changes among 13 drivers today. That’s the most lead changes in the Indianapolis 500 since 2017, when there also were 35 lead changes. The race record is 68 lead changes, set in 2013.

58th times  --  Scott Dixon led twice today, extending his Indianapolis 500 record for times led to 58.

14th Led  --  Scott Dixon has led at least one lap in 14 of his 19 Indianapolis 500 starts, tying Tony Kanaan for the all-time record.

8th straight times  --  Will Power did not lead a lap today, ending his race-record streak of eight consecutive Indianapolis 500s (2013-20) leading at least one lap.

Conor Daly, Alex Palou, Pato O’Ward and Rinus VeeKay led laps today for the first time in their Indianapolis 500 careers. Daly made his eighth start, and Palou, O’Ward and VeeKay each made their second respective starts. A total of 236 drivers have led laps in the Indianapolis 500.

Article First published in

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here