Jong leads Sevilla record 6th time Europa League win, stats - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, August 22, 2020

Jong leads Sevilla record 6th time Europa League win, stats

Sevilla defeat Inter Milan 3-2 won Sixth time Europa League Final 2020, match Stats.

Europa League kings Sevilla won the tournament for a record sixth time thanks to victory over Inter Milan in a thrilling final in Cologne.

 The drama started when Sevilla defender Diego Carlos fouled Romelu Lukaku for an Inter penalty - and ended when Lukaku deflected Carlos' bicycle kick into his own net.

 It was a first trophy in the managerial career of Sevilla boss Julen Lopetegui, whose side are unbeaten since February, a run of 21 games.

 The last nine Europa Leagues all have been won by Spanish or English teams - Sevilla have won four, Chelsea two and Atletico Madrid and Manchester United one each. The last Italian team to win were Parma in 1999.

Sevilla defeat Inter Milan 3-2 won Sixth time Europa League Final 2020, match Stats.

 Sevilla's excellent record of never losing a Uefa Cup or Europa League final continues - six finals, six victories. But this was a new Sevilla team - with barely anybody left since their three wins in a row from 2014 to 2016.

Sevilla & Inter Milan in Uefa Europa League finals

SevillaInter Milan
2006 - 4-0 win over Middlesbrough1991 - beat Roma 2-1 on aggregate
2007 - penalty shootout win over Espanyol after 2-2 draw1994 - beat Austria Salzburg 2-0 on aggregate
2014 - penalty shootout win over Benfica after 0-0 draw1997 - lost to Schalke on penalties after 1-1 aggregate draw
2015 - 3-2 win over Dnipro1998 - beat Lazio 3-0
2016 - 3-1 win over Liverpool2020 - 3-2 defeat by Sevilla
2020 - 3-2 win over Inter Milan

Sevilla  six finals, six victories, Europa League 2020 final Match stats.

1-  Sevilla have a perfect record in UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League finals: six games, six wins.

2 -  The Spanish side's six titles is twice as many as any other side has managed: Inter, Liverpool, Juventus and Atlético de Madrid have won three apiece.

3 -  De Jong is the 12th player to score two goals in a one-off UEFA Europa League/UEFA Cup final. Nobody has registered a hat-trick.

4 -  Lukaku scored for the 11th UEFA Europa League game running, extending his all-time competition record (Alan Shearer is second on eight games).

5 -  The fifth-minute penalty was the earliest final goal since Markus Babbel's third-minute effort for Liverpool against Alavés in 2001 – also in Germany, in Dortmund.

6 -  Sevilla centre-back Diego Carlos conceded penalties in the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

7 -  Julen Lopetegui joins Sevilla predecessors Juande Ramos (2006, 2007) and Unai Emery (2014, 2015, 2016) plus Rafael Benítez (2004, 2013), Luis Molowny (1985, 1986) and Quique Sánchez Flores (2010) as a victorious Spanish coach in this competition.

8 -  The tally of four first-half goals matched the record for a UEFA Europa League/UEFA Cup final set in 2001 and repeated in 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here