2019 WBSC Premier12: Groups and Locations confirmed - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Friday, February 15, 2019

2019 WBSC Premier12: Groups and Locations confirmed

WBSC Premier12 2019: Top 12 qualified nations, groups, locations revealed.

The most important international baseball event in 2019 to be played over 32 games and across Top nations from 2-17 November
Premier12 2019 Finals to be played at Japan’s Tokyo Dome.

Two teams from Premier12 to qualify for Tokyo 2020 Olympics

Current world No. 3 Korea, with a roster filled with biggest stars in the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) professional league, won the inaugural WBSC Premier12 in 2015.

WBSC Premier12 2019: first champions Korea in 12 qualified nations set for Tokyo 2020 qualifier.

 — The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) has unveiled the qualified nations — the Top 12 ranked countries in the world — and the dates of the WBSC Premier12 2019, with the flagship international baseball event in 2019 to be staged across 32 games and multiple countries from 2-17 November.

WBSC is also set to increase prize money distribution for the II WBSC Premier12 2019, following a successful inaugural edition in 2015. The Premier12 will also award the most world ranking points of any international baseball competition.

The Men’s National Teams from baseball’s best-ranked countries across four of the five Olympic continents will meet in the WBSC Premier12 2019.

  1.  Japan, 
  2.  United States of America, 
  3.  Republic of Korea, 
  4.  Chinese Taipei, 
  5.  Cuba, 
  6.  Mexico, 
  7.  Australia, 
  8.  Netherlands, 
  9.  Venezuela, 
  10.  Canada, 
  11.  Puerto Rico and 
  12.  Dominican Republic.

 WBSC Premier12 2019 Groups:

Group A:    (Guadalajara, Mexico): United States, Netherlands, Dominican Republic, and Mexico.

The group will be hosted by the Charros at Estadio de Beisbol Charros de Jalisco. Group A will officially open the global tournament with Game 1 on 2 November.

Group B:     (Taichung, Chinese Taipei): Japan, Venezuela, Puerto Rico and Chinese Taipei.

 These four teams will compete against each other at Taichung Intercontinental Stadium, with the group hosted by the Chinese Taipei Baseball Association (CTBA).

Group C:    (Seoul, South Korea): Cuba, Australia, Canada, and South Korea. (ACN)

 These teams will go head to head at Seoul’s Gocheok Sky Dome, with Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) — the nation’s top professional sports league — moving the start of its 2019 season to the earliest date in history (23 March) to close the season in October, in order to host Premier12 and have its biggest stars filling the roster of the Korean National Team.

The Premier12 2019 will allocate two spots for baseball’s historic Olympic return at the Tokyo 2020 Games: the top nation in the final standing from the Asia/Oceania territory (not including already qualified Japan) and the top finisher from the Americas.

 Opening - First Round – 2-8 November 2019.

The top 12 National Teams will be drawn into three groups of four (3×4) to start the global tournament, with Chinese Taipei, Korea, and Mexico each hosting a group.

Super Round in Japan – 11-16 November 2019.

 The top two first round winners from each group will advance (and carry the head-to-head result between them) to the Super Round (Robin) at Japan’s Chiba Marine Stadium and the Tokyo Dome.

Premier12 2019:  Tokyo Dome Finals – 17 November.

 The top two teams from the Super Round will compete in the Final at the Tokyo Dome, while the third- and fourth-place finishers will play in the bronze medal match.

 Japanese baseball brand SSK will supply the Official Competition Ball of the WBSC Premier12.

The full Official Look and branding identity of the WBSC Premier12 2019 will be unveiled in a future press announcement.

The game schedule, Opening Round cities, and stadiums will be announced in future releases.

Find out More:

WBSC Premier12: Official.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here