List of Rugby Challenge Cup Winners, Lance Todd Trophy. - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, August 25, 2018

List of Rugby Challenge Cup Winners, Lance Todd Trophy.

All-time Rugby Challenge Cup Winners List: Lance Todd Trophy.

The Lance Todd Trophy is awarded to the annual Challenge Cup Final's man of the match.
The first trophy was awarded in 1945–46, and the trophy was named in memory of Lance Todd, the New Zealand-born player.

 The trophy winners are selected by the members of the Rugby League Writers' Association present at the game. The Lance Todd Trophy is presented at a celebratory dinner at the AJ Bell Stadium, home of the Salford Red Devils. The trophy belongs to the Red Devils Association, the official body representing ex-Salford players, as of 2017 no Salford player has won this award.

The first winner is Billy Stott from Wakefield Trinity team in 1945-46.
Sean Long (St. Helens) is the most successful player made history in 2006 becoming the first player to win the Lance Todd Trophy 3 times also in 2001-04.

Wigan Worriers is the most successful club to hold the records titles to win the Lance Todd Trophy with 17th times (also jointly),  and also they hold the title of Challenge Cup Final winners with 19th times.
Leeds Rignos won the Challenge Cup Finals 12th times St, Helens won the Challenge Cup Final 12th times in Challenge Cup history.

The defending champions are Catalans Dragons, who beat Warrington Wolves 20–14 at Wembley on 25 August 2018 to become the first French team to win the challenge cup in its 117-year history. 

Tony Gigot became the first ever Frenchman to win the Lance Todd Trophy since the competition started 117 years ago.

Rugby Challenge Cup Final, Lance Todd Trophy,  Winners, champions, results, List.
  Lance Todd Trophy was given to Challenge Cup Finals man of the match

   All-Time Lance Todd Trophy winners List.

Here is complete List of All-Time Challenge Cup Final Winners & Lance Todd Trophy winners List, results Since 1945-46 to 2018 (Present).

2018:  Tony Gigot .........     Catalans 2017:  Marc Sneyd       Hull F.C.
2016:  Marc Sneyd        Hull F.C.
2015:  Tom Briscoe      Leeds Rhinos
2014:  Ryan Hall          Leeds Rhinos
2013: Matty Smith        Wigan Warriors
2012:  Brett Hodgson       Warrington Wolves
2011:  Jeff Lima             Wigan

2010 Lee Briers             Warrington
2009 Mick Monaghan             Warrington
2008 Paul Wellens              St Helens
2007 Paul Wellens/Leon Pryce              St Helens
2006 Sean Long              St Helens
2005 Kevin Sinfield              Leeds
2004 Sean Long              St Helens
2003 Gary Connolly              Leeds
2002 Kris Radlinski              Wigan
2001 Sean Long              St Helens

2000 Henry Paul              Bradford
1999 Leroy Rivett              Leeds
1998 Mark Aston              Sheffield
1997 Tommy Martyn              St Helens
1996 Robbie Paul              Bradford
1995 Jason Robinson              Wigan
1994 Martin Offiah              Wigan
1993 Dean Bell              Wigan
1992 Martin Offiah              Wigan
1991 Dennis Betts              Wigan

1990 Andy Gregory              Wigan
1989 Ellery Hanley              Wigan
1988 Andy Gregory              Wigan
1987 Graham Eadie              Halifax
1986 Bob Beardsmore              Castleford
1985 Brett Kenny              Wigan
1984 Joe Lydon              Widnes
1983 David Hobbs              Featherstone
1982 Eddie Cunningham              Widnes
1981 Mick Burke              Widnes

1980 Brian Lockwood              Hull KR
1979 Dave Topliss              Wakefield
1978 George Nicholls              St Helens
1977 Steve Pitchford              Leeds
1976 Geoff Pimblett              St Helens
1975 Ray Dutton              Widnes
1974 Derek Whitehead              Warrington
1973 Steve Nash              Featherstone
1972 Kel Coslett              St Helens
1971 Alex Murphy              Leigh

1970 Bill Kirkbride              Castleford
1969 Malcolm Reilly              Castleford
1968 Don Fox              Wakefield
1967 Carl Dooler              Featherstone
1966 Len Killeen              St Helens
1965 Ray Ashby/Brian Gabbitas              Wigan/Hunslet
1964 Frank Collier              Widnes
1963 Harold Poynton              Wakefield
1962 Neil Fox              Wakefield
1961 Dick Huddart              St Helens

1960 Tommy Harris              Hull
1959 Brian McTigue              Wigan
1958 Rees Thomas              Wigan
1957 Jeff Stevenson              Leeds
1956 Alan Prescott              St Helens
1955 Jack Grundy              Barrow
1954 Gerry Helme              Warrington
1953 Peter Ramsden              Huddersfield
1952 Billy Ivison              Workington Town
1951 Cec Mountford Wigan

1950 Gerry Helme              Warrington
1949 Ernest Ward              Bradford Northern
1948 Frank Whitcombe              Bradford Northern
1947 Willie Davies              Bradford Northern
1946 Billy Stott              Wakefield

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here