ICC announced the venues for first stand alone ICC Women's World Twenty20 2018. - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

ICC announced the venues for first stand alone ICC Women's World Twenty20 2018.

ICC announced the venues for first stand-alone ICC Women's World Twenty20 2018.

New Zealand, Australia, India, and Pak have also qualified for the 2018 ICC Women's World Twenty20 held in the Carribean.
It is the first time that Women's T20 World cup will be held without men's world.

2018 ICC Women's World Twenty20, venues, qualifiers.
2018 ICC Women's World Twenty20.

Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana and St Lucia were revealed as the three venues that will host the 2018 edition of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in the Caribbean, the cricket representing body reported on Monday(January 22).

The 3 venues were selected by Cricket West Indies through an offering process started last year and have been endorsed by the ICC. The pre-round matches will be held at the Guyana National Stadium and Darren Sammy Stadium in Saint Lucia, while the s
ICC women's T20 semi-finals and Final will be held at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda.

The 7th ICC Women's T20I WC, set to be played from November 9 - 24, will be the first stand-alone rivalry after the past six tournaments were played alongside the men's competition.

Hosts West Indies will defend the title they won in Kolkata in 2016 ICC Women's World T20 to beat Australia by wkts at Eden Gardens.
 Current skipper Stafanie Taylor said, "As Captain of the current champions, we are enthused about protecting our title and since we know we will be at home, we need to use this as a chance to welcome the world to the district for top-class Women's cricket."

2018 ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifiers.

Host West Indies will be joined by last year's runners-up team Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and ODI champions England, who have all qualified straightforwardly for the competition. The staying two spots in the ten-group occasion will be taken up by the finalists of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier, due to be played in the Netherlands from 3-14 July. The taking interest teams are Bangladesh, Holland, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates.

"We are eager to host the first stand-alone 2018 ICC Women's World T20. This will add to the established passion for women's cricket all through our Region. This is significant not just for the headway of the sport of cricket yet in addition for the potential for sharing with the world the numerous irresistible offerings of the excellent countries of the West Indies," said Tournament Director Jennifer Nero.

"We invite cricket fans the world over to the home of the prevailing ICC Women's WT20 Champions to celebrate with us as we host the world's best women cricketers in this exceptionally focused competition infused with all the really festive and extraordinarily Caribbean flavors."

West Indies has previously hosted the World Cup in 2007 and afterward the World Twenty20 of 2010 when the league matches of the women's competition were played in St Kitts, while St Lucia hosted the two semi-finals. The last in Barbados was played after the men's last and was won by Australia when they beat New Zealand by three runs.

The details of the competition, including groups and fixtures, are yet to be revealed.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here