Bangals, Afghan assured, WI & SL missed T20WC 2022 Super 12s spot - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, November 8, 2021

Bangals, Afghan assured, WI & SL missed T20WC 2022 Super 12s spot

T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh and Afghanistan secured of Super 12s spot, WI and SL to compete in first round.

 West Indies and Sri Lanka will both have to play an additional qualifying round to make the Super 12s in next year's Men's T20 World Cup in Australia, while Bangladesh and Afghanistan are assured of direct entry.

 The automatic qualifiers for the Super 12s in 2022 were determined to be the winner and runner-up of the ongoing T20 World Cup, alongside the next six highest-ranked teams. Going into Saturday's games, 

Six teams - England, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, South Africa and Australia - had already done enough to qualified their ICC T20I rankings were high enough to seal a Super 12s spot next year.

 West Indies' eight-wicket defeat to Australia on Saturday, however, meant that they slipped to 10th in the rankings, while Sri Lanka dropped to ninth. Benefitting at the two teams' expense is Bangladesh, who rose to eighth despite losing all their matches in the Super 12s due to the recent home-series wins over Australia and New Zealand.

 Joining West Indies and Sri Lanka in the first round of the 2022 T20 World Cup Australia will be Scotland and Namibia - two teams who advanced out of the first round and into the Super 12s during the ongoing edition - as well as four qualifiers.


Courtesy to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here