Kipchoge, Ibarguen Athletes of the Year: IAAF Awards 2018 winners - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Kipchoge, Ibarguen Athletes of the Year: IAAF Awards 2018 winners

Kipchoge, Ibarguen named Athletes of the Year: IAAF Awards 2018 winners.

 Kenyan distance runner Eliud Kipchoge and Colombian long and triple jumper Caterine Ibarguen have been named male and female world athletes of the year awards winners in the Annual IAAF Sports awards of 2018 held at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on Tuesday, December 4.

IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 winners, male, female, women, coach, Rising starts.

Here is complete Winners List of IAAF World Athletes Awards 2018. 

IAAF Male Athlete of Year Award 2018

 The world’s most famous distance runner after Mo Farah, Kipchoge make the best performance in the 2018 year, as he, 34, Kenyan won the London Marathon in April in 2:04:17 to finish & set a record in deepest marathon fields in history.
 He also won the Berlin Marathon in 2:01:39 to maintain his world record.

IAAF Female Athlete of Year Award 2018

 Caterine Ibarguen, Colombian, 34, won both horizontal jumps at the Central American and Caribbean Games, the IAAF Continental Cup and at the IAAF Diamond League finals – winning the latter two titles in two different cities within the space of 24 hours.

Male Rising Start 2018.

This 2018 award goes to Swedish pole vaulter Armand Duplantis, he won the senior European title by breaking his own world U20 record three times within the competition.
 He went over 5.95m, 6.00m, and 6.05m on his first attempts,

Female Rising Start 2018.

 USA sprinter Sydney McLaughlin broke her own world U20 400m hurdles record of 52.75. Not only was that mark the fastest time in the world this year, it also moved her into the top 10 on the world all-time list.

IAAF Presidents Award 2018.

 A former shot putter and Swiss champion in 1955, Andreas Brugger, 91, as meeting director of Zurich’s iconic Weltklasse. During his time in the role, 19 world records were set at Weltklasse and he transformed it into one of the most prestigious meetings in the world.

IAAF Coaching Achievement of the year award.

 In his 50-year coaching career, Joe Vigil has worked as US team coach on two Olympic teams, seven IAAF World Cross Country Championships and four Pan American Games.

Under the umbrella of his region, he trained many champions over the years likes of 2004 Olympic marathon champion Stefano Baldini, Olympic silver medallist Meb Keflezighi, Olympic bronze medallist Deena Kastor and 2013 world 800m silver medallist Brenda Martinez. In total, athletes he has coached have achieved 20 medals at global championships.

IAAF Women of the Year Award.

 Puerto Rico’s Evelyn Claudio Lopez has dedicated her life to promoting the cause of women’s athletics. She is Chairperson of the NACAC Women’s Commission and General Secretary of the Association of Pan-American Athletics. She is also part of the IAAF’s Gender Leadership Working Group and in 2013 she produced a book, Living History of Women’s Athletics.

Find out More:

IAAF: Official.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here