2021 Boston Marathon: Kenya's Kipruto Men, Kipyogei in women's win races - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, October 11, 2021

2021 Boston Marathon: Kenya's Kipruto Men, Kipyogei in women's win races

Boston Marathon 2021: Kenya's Benson Kipruto (men's), Diana Kipyogei (women's) win races.

Benson Kipruto won the men's race in an unofficial time of 2:09:51, while countrywoman Diana Kipyogei claimed the women's race in an unofficial time of 2:24:45.

For Kipruto, it is his first Boston Marathon victory, though it is his second overall victory of the year after he won the 2021 Prague Marathon. Kipruto had also won the 2018 Toronto Marathon.

Kipyogei won the race in her debut. Kipyogei took charge 18 miles into the race, but was caught by Ethiopia's Netsanet Gudeta. Kipyogei then seized control around 24 miles.

Kipruto won fairly comfortably, pulling away near the 22-mile mark. The battle for second place, however, was much more tightly contested, as three Ethiopians — Lemi Berhanu (2:10.37), Jemal Yimer (2:10.38), and Tsedat Ayana (2:10.47) — were the next ones to cross the line.

This Year marked the 125th running of the Boston Marathon, making it the world's oldest annually run marathon. This year's race was supposed to take place on the third Monday in April, for the First time in Boston Marathon History it was held in Fall, October.... 

 Boston Marathon 2021 Full results: All winners from every divisions.

Professional Men

1 Benson Kipruto (Kenya) 2:09:51

2 Lemi Berhanu (Ethiopia) 2:10:37

3 Jemal Yimer (Ethiopia) 2:10:38

4 Tsedat Ayana (Ethiopia) 2:10:47

5 Leonard Barsoton (Kenya) 2:11:11

Professional Women

1 Diana Kipyogei (Kenya) 2:24:45

2 Edna Kiplagat (Kenya) 2:25:09

3 Mary Ngugi (Kenya) 2:25:20

4 Monicah Ngige (Kenya) 2:25:32

5 Netsanet Gudeta (Ethiopia) 2:26:09

Men's Wheelchair

1 Marcel Hug (Switzerland) 1:18:11

2 Daniel Romanchuk (USA) 1:25:48

3 Ernst Van Dyk (Russia) 1:28:43

Women's Wheelchair

Finish Runner (Country) Time

1 Manuela Schar (Switzerland) 1:35:21

2 Tatyana Mcfadden (USA) 1:50:20

3 Yen Hoang (USA) 1:51:24

Men's Handcycles

1 Zachary Stinson (USA) 1:11:53

2 Steve Chapman (USA) 1:14:10

3 Marshall Tempest (USA) 1:19:17

Women's Handcycles

Finish Runner (Country) Time

1 Wendy Larsen (USA) 1:37:15

2 Edie Perkins (USA) 1:46:52

3 Devann Murphy (USA) 1:53:52


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here