Brazil new host 2021 Copa America after Argentina removed - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, May 31, 2021

Brazil new host 2021 Copa America after Argentina removed

Brazil named as new Copa América 2021 host after Argentina removed just 13 days ahead of tournament start date, Schedule.

The 2021 Copa America will be hosted by Brazil, after Argentina was stripped of the 2021 tournament just 13 days before it was due to kick off in Argentina.

The South American Football Confederation (Conmebol) said Argentina was removed as host because of the "present circumstances".

CONMEBOL said on Twitter — and it was later confirmed by an official — that it was analyzing 

"Conmebol thanks the president @jairbolsonaro and his team, as well as the Brazilian Football Confederation for opening the doors of that country to what is today the safest sporting event in the world. South America will shine in Brazil with all its stars!"

 "The CONMEBOL 2021 Copa América will be played in Brazil!" it said on Twitter.

"The start and end dates of the tournament are confirmed. The venues and fixtures will be announced by CONMEBOL in the coming hours. The oldest national team tournament in the world will make a whole continent shake!"

When was the Copa America 2021 will be held, schedule dates.?

Copa America is scheduled to be played between June 13 and July 10. South American teams are already training for the tournament and two rounds of World Cup qualifiers are starting this week.

Copa America was initially scheduled for 2020, but the COVID-19 pandemic forced its postponement. 

Argentina COVID-19 situation, Corona virus cases 2021.

Argentina is facing a surge of coronavirus infections, with strict lockdown measures imposed last weekend amid a seven-day average of 35,000 cases and 500 deaths. More than 77,000 people have died in the country due to the disease, as the virus continues to spread.

Colombia was already dropped as a tournament co-host on May 20 amid a wave of protests against President Iván Duque.

Copa America 2021: Groups, teams, format.

The original idea of this Copa America was to start a new format with five teams based in each of the host countries. 

Group A features Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay; 

Group B includes Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela. 

The four best teams in each group would advance to the knockout stage, and the final was originally set to played in Colombia’s Barranquilla.

It's the first time that 2021 Copa America hosted by two countries.

Qatar, the 2022 World Cup hosts, and Australia, both scheduled to play as guests, decided in February to withdraw also due to the coronavirus pandemic.


Courtesy to AP Soccer: 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here