Stanford ends 29 Years winning drought, won NCAA women's champ's - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, April 5, 2021

Stanford ends 29 Years winning drought, won NCAA women's champ's

Stanford beat Arizona 54-53, gives Cardinal, Coach VanDerveer first NCAA women's national championship since 1992.

 — Haley Jones scored 17 points and Stanford beat Arizona 54-53, giving the Cardinal and coach Tara VanDerveer their first NCAA women's national championship in 29 years on Sunday night at Alamodome.

 Stanford triple-teamed Aari McDonald once she received the inbounds pass, and her last-second shot from deep did not fall.

 Stanford (31-2) built a nine-point lead in the fourth quarter before Arizona (21-6) cut it to 51-50 on star guard Aari McDonald’s 3-pointer.

Stanford, beat, Arizona, NCAAW, final, scores, result, won, NCAA women's, national, basketball, championship.

Best Stats, Stanford won the 2021 NCAA Women's Title Championship in 29 Years.

 It was the first women’s basketball championship for the Pac-12 since VanDerveer and Stanford won the title in 1992. The last time a team from the conference was in the title game was 2010 when the Cardinal lost to UConn.

 Both teams met twice during the regular season 2021 and Stanford rolled past Arizona both times, winning by double digits in each game. 

In the Final match on Sunday night’s game was the first with two teams from west of the Mississippi playing for a title since 1986..

Notre Dame had the biggest comeback of any team in the NCAA title game rallying from 15 down to win the 2018 title on a last-second shot by Arike Ogunbowale.

 Haley Jones wins Most Outstanding Player 

The sophomore led the Cardinal with 17 points and added eight rebounds while going 8-for-14 from the floor.

 Tara VanDerveer makes NCAA Women's Basketball history.

 Tara VanDerveer, 67, Stanford coach's won the third NCAA women's national title 2021 and first since leading the Cardinal to go along with the ones she won in 1990 and 1992.

 The last time Stanford won the title was in 1990, 1992, coached by Tara VanDerveer.

According to ESPN Stats & Info, the 29-year championship gap is the longest in Division I men's or women's history.

 She's also the fourth coach to win three national titles. 

Tara VanDerveer, women's basketball's all-time winningest coach, also became the fourth women's head coach to win three titles, joining Geno Auriemma (Connecticut), Pat Summitt (Tennessee), and Kim Mulkey (Baylor)....

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here