2019 NFL Honors: Patrick Mahomes bright in winners, SB coaches out - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, February 3, 2020

2019 NFL Honors: Patrick Mahomes bright in winners, SB coaches out

NFL Honors 2019: Patrick Mahomes shines, Super Bowl coaches shut out in winners list.

  Patrick Mahomes was the betting favorite to be named the MVP ahead of the Chiefs' matchup against the 49ers in Super Bowl LIV. While it wasn't looking good for most of the game, Mahomes and the Chiefs' 21-point, fourth-quarter scoring spree propelled the Chiefs to a 31-20 victory.

In the process, Mahomes, the 2018 league MVP, took home MVP honors for the game.

 Besides winning the MVP, Mahomes was also named the Offensive Player of the Year and the FedEx Air Player of the Year.

Patrick Mahomes wins MVP in NFL Honors 2019: Full List of Award Winners.

 The most surprising result of the night probably came in the Coach of the Year voting. Bears coach Matt Nagy won the award after leading Chicago to a 12-4 record that resulted in the Bears' first playoff berth since 2010. The surprising part of the vote was the fact that both Bill Belichick and Sean McVay were shut out, with neither Super Bowl coach receiving even a single vote.

  2020 Super Bowl LIV: Kansas City Chiefs beat San Francisco 49ers 31-20, first championship in 50 years.

 Another big winner in Atlanta was Aaron Donald.

The Rams star was named the Defensive Player of Year for the second straight season, joining Lawrence Taylor and J.J. Watt as the only repeat winners in NFL history.

One of the tightest races of the night was for Offensive Rookie of the Year. In that category, Giants running back Saquon Barkley edged out Baker Mayfield by just five votes (26.5 to 21.5).

 NFL Honors 2019: Full List of Award Winners. 

AP NFL MVP:    Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs)

AP Offensive Player of the Year: Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs)

AP Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald (Rams)

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Saquon Barkley (Giants)

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Darius Leonard (Colts)

AP Comeback Player of the Year: Andrew Luck (Colts)

AP Coach of the Year: Matt Nagy (Bears)

AP Assistant Coach of the Year: Vic Fangio (Bears)

FedEx Air Player of the Year: Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs)

FedEx Ground Player of the Year: Saquon Barkley (Giants)

Bridgestone Clutch Performance Play of the Year: Miami Miracle

GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year: Aaron Rodgers (Comeback win over the Bears)

Game Changer Award Presented by Gillette: Shaquem Griffin (Seahawks)

Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year: Rams offensive line

Walter Payton Man of the Year: Chris Long (Eagles)

Salute to Service Award: Ben Garland (Falcons)

Deacon Jones Award: Aaron Donald (Rams)

Art Rooney Award: Drew Brees (Saints)

Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award: Gabe Infante (St. Joseph's Prep, Philadelphia)

Celebration of the Year: Seahawks

Find out More:

NFL Official.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here