Messi sixth, Rapinoe win first Ballon d'Or award 2019 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Messi sixth, Rapinoe win first Ballon d'Or award 2019

Lionel Messi sixth time & Megan Rapinoe wins the Ballon d'Or award 2019.

Argentina’s Barcelona forward Lionel Messi clinched the men’s Ballon d’Or award for a record sixth time ahead of his rival Juventus Star Cristian Ronaldo on Monday, with Megan Rapinoe winning the women’s Ballon d’Or after leading the United States to a record-extending fourth World Cup title with England's Lucy Bronze the runner-up.

  Leo Messi, 32, who lifted the coveted trophy in 2009 and comes after he scored 54 times for club and country in 2018-19, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, beat Liverpool’s Champions League winner Virgil van Dijk in a vote of international journalists. Cristiano Ronaldo was third and Liverpool’s Senegal forward Sadio Mané fourth.

 Winger Rapinoe, 34, co-captained the US to victory at this summer's World Cup, where she was named player of the tournament and finished joint-top scorer with six goals.

Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe wins Ballon d'Or award 2019

  Messi's win means the Ballon d'Or award has been won by a player from Spain's La Liga in each of the last 11 years, including last year's winner Luka Modric, who broke the 10-year Messi-Ronaldo monopoly on the prize.

 Rapinoe has had a memorable 2019, becoming a global star for her performances during the World Cup but also for her willingness to speak out on causes such as LGBTQ+ rights and equal pay.

#BallondOr  #Ballondor2019

What They Said:

Lionel Messi quote.

 “It was an amazing year, but there’s a couple of players like that who are a bit unnatural,” said Van Dijk of Messi and Ronaldo. “So you need to respect greatness as well. “I was close, but there was just someone a little bit better. I’m very proud of what I achieved last year with Liverpool and Holland, and hopefully we can do that again this year. But that will be tough with those guys around here still.”

Megan Rapinoe quote.

 “It’s absolutely incredible, congrats to the other nominees. I can’t believe I’m the one winning in this field, it’s been an incredible year,” Rapinoe said in a recorded message. “I want to thank my team mates and the US federation.”

 Dutchman Matthijs de Ligt, a key player in Ajax’s thrilling run to the Champions League semi-finals and now at Juventus, won the Kopa Trophy for the best Under-21 male player 2019.

Liverpool's Alisson, one of the four Liverpool players in the top seven for the men’s Ballon d’Or, was awarded the new Yashin Trophy for the best male goalkeeper of the year 2019.

Lionel Messi: Barcelona forward wins 2019 Ballon d'Or for record sixth time

The Final 2019 Men's Ballond'Or award rankings, current standings.

Men's Ballon d'Or 2019

1. Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)

4. Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool)

5. Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

6. Kylian Mbappé (France, Paris Saint-Germain)

7. Alisson (Brazil, Liverpool)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

9. Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Manchester City)

The Final 2019 Women's Ballond'Or award rankings, current standings.

Women's Ballon d'Or 2019

1. Megan Rapinoe (USA, Reign FC)

2. Lucy Bronze (England, Lyon)

3. Alex Morgan (United States, Orlando Pride)

4. Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon)

5. Viviane Miedema (Netherlands, Arsenal)

6. Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)

7. Sam Kerr (Australia, Perth Glory and Chicago Red Stars)

8. Rose Lavelle (USA, Washington Spirit)

9. Ellen White (England, Birmingham and Manchester City)

10. Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Lyon)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here