2019 BWF World Tour Finals Draw, groups, players list confirmed - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Monday, December 9, 2019

2019 BWF World Tour Finals Draw, groups, players list confirmed

BWF World Tour Finals 2019 Draw, all groups, players list confirmed

 Zheng Si Wei and Huang Ya Qiong, in the quest for the only major title that has eluded them as a pair, start their campaign in a tricky group at the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2019.

It will be held from 11 to 15 December 2019 in Guangzhou, China and has a total prize of $1,500,000 while the winners share for single champions are $120,000 Doubles winners take homes $126,000.

The world No.1 duo has won the World Championships and all three Super 1000 titles; they are now in the running for a calendar ‘Badminton Super Grand Slam. However, they will have to reckon with three pairs in Group B, all of whom have beaten them at least once – Indonesia’s Praveen Jordan/Melati Daeva Oktavianti, Hafiz Faizal/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja, and Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino.

BWF World Tour Finals 2019: full Draw, groups, players list

 The 2019 BWF World Tour Finals 2019 draw for the five categories was conducted today in the presence of media, top officials of Chinese Badminton Association and host organisers, and sponsors. Among those who helped pick the draw were BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer; David Liao, President & CEO of HSBC China; and Yang Wei, Olympic gold medallist.

BWF World Tour Finals 2019 draw: All Men's Women's Singles, Doubles, Groups, Players List.

 Defending mixed doubles champions Wang Yi Lyu and Huang Dong Ping were drawn into Group A with top seeds Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai, Seo Seung Jae/Chae YuJung, and Chan Peng Soon/Goh Liu Ying.

 In Men’s Singles, two-time world champion Kento Momota will have to contend with Jonatan Christie, Wang Tzu Wei and Anders Antonsen in Group A.
Group B might well be the ‘group of death’, for it has four evenly-matched contestants in Chou Tien Chen, Chen Long, Viktor Axelsen, and Anthony Ginting.

  Women’s Singles defending champion Pusarla V Sindhu is in Group A with Chen Yu Fei, Akane Yamaguchi, and He Bing Jiao.
Group B has Ratchanok Intanon, Nozomi Okuhara, two-time season finale winner Tai Tzu Ying and Busanan Ongbamrungphan.

 In Men’s Doubles, top seeds Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo can expect some tough challenges early on against group-mates Takeshi Kamura/Keigo Sonoda, defending champions Li Jun Hui/Liu Yu Chen, and Asian champions Hiroyuki Endo/Yuta Watanabe.
 World champions Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan will have to contend with Lee Yang/Wang Chi-Lin, Lu Ching Yao/Yang Po Han and Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik.

 The two Chinese Women’s Doubles Pairs – Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan and Du Yue/Li Yin Hui – find themselves in Group A with Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota and Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu.

World champions Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara are grouped with Kim So Yeong/Kong Hee Yong, Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai and Lee So Hee/Shin Seung Chan.

BWF World Tour Finals 2019 format

The eight participating shuttlers will be split into two groups of four where each participant will play the other three in their group once.

After the group stage is done, the top two ranked players advance to the semifinals, where the winner of the first group plays the runner-up of the second group and vice versa. The winners of the two semifinals then play each other in the final.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here