India Confirmed as Next U-17 Women’s World Cup Host in 2020. - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, March 16, 2019

India Confirmed as Next U-17 Women’s World Cup Host in 2020.

FIFA confirmed as India will host Next U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino with the collaboration of  All India Football Federation has confirmed in a meeting on Friday, that India will host the 2020 FIFA Under-17 Women's World Cup, it is the second major Football tournament that India hosting after three years of the FIFA U-17 Men's World Cup 2017.

FIFA Revealed India will host the upcoming U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020.

Now as being the hosts, India's U-17 women's football team will be part of the World Cup. This will be only the second time that India will play in major Football tournament FIFA World Cup.

 This will be the second FIFA tournament that India will host, after hosting the U-17 Men's World Cup in 2017, where England beat Spain 5-2 in the final in Kolkata. This will be the seventh edition of the U-17 Women's World Cup, and the second in Asia after Jordan hosted the 2016 edition, which was won by North Korea, the only nation with two titles in the history of the event.

FIFA U-17 Men's World Cup winners List: All-Time Champions, History.

How they Win Bidding Process.?

 France and India were the only two countries that declared an interest in hosting the tournament when the bidding process began in July last year. India had also expressed interest in hosting the U-20 Women's World Cup along with South Korea during the bidding process.

 India's only qualification to the AFC U-16 Women's Championship, which serves as the qualifier for the U-17 World Cup, was in the inaugural edition in South Korea in 2005. India had performed creditably, beating Indonesia 6-0, losing 6-4 to Thailand despite leading 4-3 at one stage, apart from losing 7-0 to the hosts. The current U-16 team narrowly failed to qualify for the 2019 AFC Championships, beating Hong Kong and Pakistan, but failing to advance due to a defeat to Mongolia and a draw against group winners Laos in their final game, in Ulanbaatar last September.

Defending Champions U17 Women’s WC.

 The Spain under-17 women's team is the defending champion, while North Korea has had most success in the competition with two titles. Japan in 2014, France in 2012 and South Korea in 2010 have been the other winners.

 Also, New Zealand and Canada had finished third and fourth in the event last year.

 AIFF president Praful Patel Said:

 "A very proud moment and a honour that our country #India and #AIFF has been confirmed as the host of #FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020. We will strive to make it a grand success."

FIFA president Gianni Infantino Said:

 "We have decided that India will host the next U-17 Women's World Cup in 2020," FIFA president Gianni Infantino said after the FIFA Council met in Miami.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here