Prince George to host 2020 World Women’s Curling Championship - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Prince George to host 2020 World Women’s Curling Championship

Prince George in Canada will host the next World Women’s Curling Championship 2020.

It is the first time that the Prince George city in British Colombia, will host the upcoming World Women’s Curling Championship, A world curling federation event in B. C, Canada.

Canada will be welcoming the world’s best women’s curling teams in the world women's curling event from 14th March - 20 March 2020.

P. George, B Colombia in Canada will host the next 2020 World Women’s Curling Championship.

The world women’s championship began in 1979 in Perth, Scotland, and was contested separately from the men’s championship through 1988. During that time, the women’s event was held twice in Canada, in 1983 in Moose Jaw and 1986 in Kelowna.

List of Men's, Women's World Curling Championship Winners: All-time historical champions.

It will be the fourth world women’s curling championship contested in British Columbia, and the first since the 2008 event at Vernon, won by Jennifer Jones, who also prevailed in the 2018 World Women’s Championship in North Bay.

The 1998 world women’s championship was played in Kamloops, where Sweden’s Elisabet Gustafson captured gold, while Canada’s Marilyn Bodogh won the 1986 world women’s title in Kelowna.

Prince George also hosted the 1987 Canadian Seniors, 1979 Canadian Mixed and the 1961 Canadian Junior Men’s championships.

 The 2019 LGT World Women’s Curling Championship is scheduled for March 16-24 in Silkeborg, Denmark, presented by Pioneer Hi-Bred.

In 2004, During that time, Canada first hosted the joint championships in 1991 in Winnipeg, followed by five Ford World Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships (Brandon, Man., 1995; Hamilton, 1996; Kamloops, 1998; Saint John, N.B., 1999 and Winnipeg, 2003).

 World Men’s has been held in Canada in Victoria (2005 and 2013), Edmonton (2007 and 2017), Moncton (2009), Regina (2011), and Halifax (2015), with the 2019 event set for March 30-April 7 in Lethbridge, Alta.

The World Women’s has been staged twice in Swift Current, Sask. (2010, 2016), in addition to 2006 in Grande Prairie, Alta., 2008 in Vernon., 2012 in Lethbridge, 2014 in Saint John, N.B. and the 2018 event in North Bay.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here