List of Rugby World Cup Winners, champions history since 1987 - Sports history


Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, November 2, 2019

List of Rugby World Cup Winners, champions history since 1987

Rugby World Cup Winners-Runner-Up List, since 1987-2019.

A record 22 points from the Fly-half Handre Pollard kicked, Brilliant second-half tries from wingers Makazole Mapimpi and Cheslin Kolbe allowed the Springboks beat England 32-12 to win a third trophy of 2019 Rugby World Cup in final, punishing an error-ridden England performance.

The 2019 Rugby World Cup was the ninth iteration of the tournament and there have been only four different winners of the event. New Zealand and South Africa are the most successful nations, each winning the trophy three times.

Rugby Sports is under the supervision of Rugby League International Federations (RLIF), who are responsible for regulating the rules & regulations throughout the world.

First Rugby World Cup is held in 1987 at Co-host Australia-- New-Zealand.
Initially, there are 16 participants in the World cup, later in 1999, four more teams are added, now 20 teams are participating in this  RWC2018.
Now South Africa has equalised the New Zealand record of most winning titles of Rugby World Cup in history to win the Three WC titles, by Winning the last current tournament Rugby World Cup 2019 to defeating England...
The most overall points scorer in Rugby World Cup history is the English Jonny Wilkinson, their score is 277 in WC career.
The most points scored in a single game in 145 by All Blacks in 1995.

Who won the most titles of Rugby World Cup in history.

In its short history, just four teams have emerged victorious in the Rugby World Cup.

Here the teams with the most Rugby World Cup titles since 1987.

New Zealand – 3 times
South Africa – 2
Australia – 2
England 1

 Rugby World Cup winners: full list of all-time past champions, history

–Full List of Rugby World Cup winners ahead of the ninth edition, which was kicked off in Japan on Sept. 20.

2019 - South Africa beat England 32–12, Japan

2015 – New Zealand beat Australia 34-17, London

The two rivals met once again, with Steve Hanson now in charge of the All Blacks.
 England hosted and crashed out famously in the group stage while New Zealand became the first side ever to win as defending champions, lifting the trophy at Twickenham. 

Argentina lost to Australia 15-29 in the quarter-finals, meaning the Wallabies would face the All Blacks in the final following their win over South Africa 18-20.

 However, as they pushed for the win, New Zealand wrestled control back and went on to create history, becoming the first team to win two World Cups in a row.

2011 – New Zealand beat France 8-7, Auckland

Hosts New Zealand had the pressure of the nation as they looked to win their first Rugby World Cup since 1987.

New Zealand hosted the tournament second time and also won for the second time, defeating France 8-7 in a tense and thrilling final refereed by Craig Joubert. They had beaten Australia 20-6 in the semi-final, while France defeated Wales 9-8.

 despite some great play from both sides as defences reigned supreme and the All Blacks finally had their hands on the trophy once more.

2007 – South Africa beat England 15-6, Paris

 England defeated France in their semi-final 14-9, to attempt to defend their title. However, they lost to the rampaging Springboks, who benefited from a firing Bryan Habana on the wing throughout the tournament, who amassed eight tries in seven games.

 South Africa won 37-13 in their semi-final and defeated England 6-15 in the Stade de France, thanks to a Percy Montgomery kicking display.

2003 – England beat Australia 20-17 (after extra time), Sydney

 Who could forget this final and THAT iconic Jonny Wilkinson drop goal which saw the Red Rose get their hands on the Webb Ellis Cup for the very first time?
England were the pre-tournament favourites and ensured a repeat of the 1991 final when beating the All Blacks in the semi-final. 

The final proved to be a kicking competition between Wilkinson and Wallabies’ Elton Flately, with the latter slotting over a late penalty to force extra-time once again.

1999 – Australia beat France 35-12, Cardiff

 New Zealand lost in the semi-final to France, 43-31, which means that Les Bleus would face Australia in the final. The Wallabies had defeated reigning champions South Africa 27-21 in the semi-final at Twickenham (the UK had hosted a number of the games although Wales were the nominal hosts). 

Australia triumphed 35-12 in the Millennium Stadium final in Cardiff, to become the first country to lift the trophy twice

1995 – South Africa beat New Zealand 15-12 (after extra time), Johannesburg

  For the first time event held in South Africa following the end of apartheid, it was also the first World Cup in which the nation had been permitted to compete. They fittingly won it, defeating France 19-15 in the semi-final before beating New Zealand 15-12 in the Johannesburg final. The Kiwis had knocked out England 29-45 in Cape Town in their semi.

1991 – Australia beat England 12-6, London

Despite losing their opening game, England progressed to the final where they would face Australia, who had seen off the reigning champions New Zealand 12-6 in a tight semi-final encounter.

1987 – New Zealand beat France 29-9, Auckland

 France qualified for the final by virtue of beating Australia 24-30 in Sydney, while New Zealand triumphed over Wales 49-6. In the RWC final, the All Blacks won the first World Cup 29-9 in Eden Park, Auckland, the first of France's three final losses.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here